Blueberries Galore!

It’s blueberry season and between the cheaper prices in the grocery store and the possibility of blueberry picking these are perfect recipes for you to create.  Frozen blueberries could be used as well.  This past week I made blueberry syrup that I put on top of surprisingly delicious spinach pancakes, you heard me right, SPINACH pancakes with no flour or oats.  Also on my menu was a healthy blueberry muffin which I will share soon!

CIMG3045

Let’s start with the blueberry syrup first, I have made this a couple years in a row now and it stays fresh for months in a jar in my fridge and can be used in a bunch of ways.  I top pancakes and waffles with it, dip a muffin in it or stir it into my greek yogurt.  Usually I double or triple the recipe to give to friends and family but the recipe I’m sharing now that I found on this blog would be for just one (by the way, the homemade pancakes also listed on there are delicious).  In a large saucepan (it will boil over if it’s not big enough and you don’t watch it, trust me, I know!) put in 1 cup of blueberries, 1 cup water, 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup pure maple syrup.  Whisk all those ingredients together.

CIMG3066

When it comes to a boil, lower the heat to low and let it simmer for 10 minutes.  Once it’s cool, package in containers and use it in your favorite syrup ways!

File_004 (21)

Now, the Spinach Pancake part!  A friend of mine had shared this recipe on Facebook and I knew I had to try it.  I make another one kind of like it but it includes oats instead of spinach so I was very intrigued by this.  In my food processor (you could also use a blender) I threw in 1 banana, 2 eggs, 1/2 tsp vanilla, dash of cinnamon, 1 cup fresh spinach, 1 tbsp ground flaxseed.  I let my processor run until it was all combined and it will be very runny.

File_005 (13).jpeg

I sprayed my frying pan with coconut spray (you could use any cooking spray though) and heated it onto a medium heat setting, I measured 1/4 cup full of the mixture into my pan and waited till bubbles to form and then flipped them.  If you wait too long they burn easily.  The mixture made me 5 large pancakes and I topped them with the above blueberry syrup!

File_007 (6).jpeg

 

 

Leave a Reply

