Turkey and Spinach Stuffed Shells

It’s been a bit since I posted some type of Italian dish.  This was does not disappoint.  My sister had made this stuffed shell recipe a couple times and kept telling me to try it out and I’m glad I did.  This recipe involves a few steps, however, it makes a pretty large batch of shells and can definitely be warmed up for a few meals.

For the shells I bought a box of jumbo shells and cooked the whole box but next time I will only cook the 24 shells that the recipe requires.  I boiled the shells for 10 minutes and drained them and let them cool.

In a frying pan I sauteed 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic and with 3 tsp of olive oil and added in 1 lb of ground turkey until it was browned.

File_001 (33).jpeg

While the meat was cooking and cooling I squeezed out excessive water from 16 oz bag of frozen spinach.  To do this I used a cheesecloth and rang it out as much as I could (a paper towel or dishcloth would work just as well.

File_000 (65).jpeg

Along with the bag of spinach I mixed in a large bowl 1 1/2 cups ricotta cheese (almost a whole 16 oz container) and 2 eggs.

File_002 (23).jpeg

Once the ground turkey was cooled I added it to the mixture.

File_003 (23).jpeg

Then it was time to prepare for assembly.  In a 9×13 glass pan I poured 1 cup marinara sauce and spread it evenly (you could use any pasta sauce you fancy).

File_004 (20).jpeg

In each shell I added 2 tbsp of the mixture and set them into the sauce.

File_006 (8).jpeg

With a little bit of squeezing I was able to add 24 shells to the pan.

File_005 (12).jpeg

I covered the shells with 2 more cups of marinara sauce and 1 1/2 cups of mozzarella cheese.  In a preheated 400 degree oven I put the pan, that I had covered with aluminum foil, in for 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes I removed the foil and cooked for another 10 minutes.  Amazing!

File_000 (66).jpeg

Leave a Reply

