Greek Turkey Burgers

These burgers are so incredibly delicious with the added greek salad and tzadziki dressing.  The best part about these is that it uses clean ingredients and its preparation is nothing at all to whip up and it seems like you’re eating at a gourmet Greek restaurant.  The original recipe can be found here but I made no changes.

IMG_1770.JPG

First to prepare the burgers I grated two zucchinis to fill 3/4 cup.  After I had grated it I rung out the water in a paper towel (it can be rung out in dishtowel or cheese cloth as well).  Once you ring the water out it takes a lot more zucchini to get to 3/4 cup, FYI.  In a large bowl I had mixed the grated zucchini, 1 1/2 lbs of ground turkey, 1 tsp minced garlic, 1/4 cup chopped red onion, 1 tbsp oregano, 3/4 tsp salt and pepper, 1/3 cup crumbled Feta cheese, 1/2 tsp lemon juice.  With my hand I divided my mixture into 6 even patties.

IMG_1771.JPG

Little tidbit, if you press your thumb into the top of a homemade burger they will cook flatter instead of having the top rounded like a football.  In a frying pan (grill would be work too) I cooked the burgers 6 minutes on each over medium high heat.  I kept checking the temperature to know they were cooked inside.

IMG_1772.JPG

Since the burgers had to cook I began to prepare the toppings.  In a medium size bowl I combined a chopped cucumber and 2 tomatoes with 1/4 red onion, 1/3 cup Kalamata olives, 1 tsp oregano, a pinch of salt, 1 tsbp crumbled Feta cheese.

IMG_1773.JPG

Next up, the tzadiziki dressing, my favorite part!  First I grated a cucumber until I had enough to fill 1/4 cup.  I whisked the cucumber along with 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt, 1 tsp white wine vinegar, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp dill, salt and pepper.

Once all the pieces were were made I assembled mine as a salad but I’m sure the layers on top of a bun would be as tasty.  On a bed of mixed greens and spinach I cut up the burger, topped with some of the tomato cucumber salad and threw some of the tzadiziki on top!  Yummy!  Don’t mind my Christmas plastic tupperware I take to lunch, Christmas in July here!

IMG_1777.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

