Chilled Asian Shrimp Bowl

During the summer I tend to eat more salads and foods that are cold and raw.  Having this recipe for Spiralized Summer Roll Bowls with Hoisin Peanut Sauce is a great option to have in my summer arsenal.  If you’re a fan of ordering summer rolls at an Asian restaurant then you’ll be loving the freshness of this bowl.

To make the sauce I whisked together in a bowl 2 tbsp peanut butter, 2 tsp liquid aminos, 1 tsp sriracha, 1/2 tsp grated ginger, 1/2 tsp minced garlic, 4 tbsp warm water.  The original recipe called for 1 tbsp hoisin sauce but I don’t like all the funky extra ingredients added into it so I eliminated it and it made no difference to me.  Once all the ingredients were mixed together I put the bowl in the fridge while I worked on the next step.

File_000 (61).jpeg

In a large bowl I added in a cup of matchstick carrots (you could also grate carrots yourself), 1 cup red cabbage, 2 large English cucumbers that I spiralized, 45 medium sized shrimp, 2 tbsp chopped cilantro, 12 chopped basil leaves, 12  chopped mint leaves and a small handful of peanuts.

File_001 (32).jpeg

When all the ingredients were incorporated I took the sauce out of the refrigerator and tossed the veggies and shrimp with the sauce.  After sitting over night and eating it the next day for dinner I thought the flavors had more time to melt into each other.  Enjoy!

File_002 (22).jpeg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

