Salmon Tacos with Mango Guacamole

Can I please eat this meal every single day?!?!?!?  I was licking any leftover pieces of salmon or guacamole off my plate that my taco might have left behind, it was THAT good!  Even the salmon on its own would be a great little evening dinner.

I’m usually not a “make fish at home” type of person.  The first thing I check out on a menu is usually salmon or some type of fish when I’m at a restaurant but I just don’t make it at home.  This recipe has totally changed the game for me.  I’m quite sure I will be incorporating this into my meal plan each week to have as lunch/dinner.

The original recipe calls for black rice, also known as forbidden rice.  I could not find it at any stores so when I was at Trader Joe’s I saw wild rice that was black and thought that was good enough.  In the future I will definitely use this rice again, it had a lot of flavor.  In a medium size pot I boiled 4 cups of water, rinsed a cup of the rice and threw it into the boiling water and let it simmer for 55 minutes covered.  The water did not get soaked up by the rice so I drained out the water after cooking.  It takes awhile to cook but I thought the texture and flavor was worth it.  Any type of rice that you like could definitely be substituted.

File_001 (30).jpeg

While the rice was cooking I prepared the salmon to bake.  I bought a pound of salmon and placed it on a baking sheet (that I covered with my silicon non-stick baking mat or you could use foil or parchment paper).  In a small bowl I mixed 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp onion powder, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp thyme, 1/2 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp chili powder (if you do not want the spiciness then I would eliminate the cayenne).  When the spices were mixed I patted them onto my piece of salmon and put it into my oven that was set at 400 degrees for about 18 minutes, making sure it was flaky in the center.

File_002 (20).jpeg

Since the salmon had to bake and the rice was still cooking I got to work on making the best darn guacamole.  I honestly ate the entire bowl I made in one whole sitting because I was taking tortilla chips to it.  This mango guacamole I want to be eating all summer long.  All it takes is a mashed up avocado (I didn’t mash mine too much since I like biting into pieces of it), half of a jalapeno pepper chopped up, 1/4 cup chopped red onion, 1/4 cup chopped cilantro, a chopped up mango (I bought mine already cut from Wegmans) and some squeezes of fresh lime juice, salt and pepper.  Mix all those up and you have yourself a delicious guacamole!  The picture I took is half of it gone because I couldn’t stop with the chips.

File_003 (22).jpeg

After everything was prepared I assembled my corn tortilla taco.  FYI, corn tortillas are the little tortillas that come usually in a large pack and warming up the corn tortilla in a pan over the stove helps with it not ripping so much.  On a corn tortilla I placed some of the delicious guacamole, rice and salmon and ate away!

File_004 (19).jpeg

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

