Cashew Chicken & Bean Quinoa Bake

Last Friday I mentioned in my Favorites that I was going to loosely follow a plan for this week’s meals and workouts.  On Monday I made Cashew Chicken Quinoa Bake and oh my yumm!  I did make some changes to the original recipe so at the end I’ll let you know the complete list of ingredients.

File_000 (58).jpeg

Super easy in that after you rinse the quinoa there is no extra step in cooking it.  All you have to do is take a 13×9 pan and spray it with cooking spray (I used coconut oil cooking spray) and dump the rinsed 1 cup of quinoa into the bottom of the pan.

File_001 (29).jpeg

On top of the uncooked quinoa I layered 1 cup chopped onion, 1 1/2 large red peppers cut into bite sized pieces then 8 oz of chicken breast cut into bite size pieces and a half of rinsed can of garbanzo beans.

File_002 (19).jpeg

The originally recipe called for hoisin sauce but after not being able to locate it I did some searching online and came up with my own concoction which I think added some great taste to the recipe.  In a small bowl I mixed together 2 tsp sesame oil, 4 tbsp soy sauce, 2 tbsp peanut butter, 1 tbsp honey, 2 tsp white vinegar, 1/8 tsp garlic powder, 1/8 tsp pepper, 2 tsp sriracha.  When all that was combined it equaled the 1/2 cup of hoisin sauce that was needed for the recipe.  To that small bowl I added in 1 tbsp minced garlic, 2 more tbsp soy sauce, 1/2 tbsp fresh ginger that I chopped, 1 cup water.  I whisked all those ingredients together and then poured it over the chicken, beans, veggies and quinoa.

File_003 (21).jpeg

Then I baked it in a 375 degree oven for 40 minutes, removed the pan and added 1 cup of cashews to the top and baked for another 8 minutes.  I cut the bake into 4 pieces and it was delicious warmed up for lunch!  Can’t wait to eat more leftovers!

Ingredients:

1 cup quinoa, rinsed and uncooked

1 cup onion, chopped

2 medium red peppers largely chopped

8 oz. uncooked chicken breast cut into bite sized pieces

1/2 can garbanzo beans, rinsed

2 tsp sesame oil

6 tbsp soy sauce or coconut aminos

2 tbsp peanut butter

1 tbsp honey

2 tsp white vinegar

1/8 tsp garlic powder

1/8 tsp black pepper

2 tsp sriracha sauce (add more for more spice)

1 tbsp garlic

1/2 tbsp fresh ginger, minced

1 cup water

1 cup cashews

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375.  Spray 13×9 with cooking spray, layer quinoa, onion, red pepper, chicken, beans.  Whisk all remaining ingredients except cashews.  Pour mixture over other layers in pan.  Bake for 40 minutes.  Remove from oven and top with cashews and cook for another 8 minutes.  Make sure chicken is cooked before removing from oven.

 

 

Leave a Reply

