Thai Chicken Stir Fry

Pretty sure this is a first on the blog, I have cooked a recipe in which I needed to cook chicken breasts (well I used tenders since they are smaller for me to deal with) and on the stove and it turned out delicious!  The original recipe was Thai Chicken, Edamame & Quinoa Stir Fry but I swapped out the quinoa for my favorite frozen brown rice from Trader Joe’s!

File_000 (56).jpeg

While warming up the rice in the microwave I started cooking a pound of chicken that was cut into 1 inch cubes on the stovetop.  I heated 1/2 tbsp of sesame oil in my pan and seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper and cooked until it was no longer pink, mine took about 10 minutes over medium heat.

File_001 (28).jpeg

Next, I sliced up a red pepper and chopped up a large crown of broccoli.  When the chicken was finished cooking I removed it from the skillet and put it on a plate and set it aside.  Into the same skillet I added another 1/2 tbsp of sesame oil into and threw the veggies in along with a cup of frozen edamame.  I let those veggies cook down until they weren’t so crunchy, about 8 minutes.

File_003 (20).jpeg

When the veggies were cooking I whisked together the sauce, 1/3 cup of powdered peanut butter (1/4 cup of regular peanut butter can be substituted the original recipe says and I will try that next time), 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk, 2 tbsp soy sauce (tamari or coconut aminos would work too), 1/2 tbsp honey, 1 tsp red wine vinegar, 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic (or 3 garlic cloves), 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (eliminate or lessen if you don’t like spicy, I used 1/4 tsp and it was a good amount of heat for me).

File_002 (18).jpeg

Once the veggies were done I put the chicken back into the skillet and stirred the sauce in and then stirred in the rice and within 30 minutes by dinner was ready and it was oh so good!  Can’t wait to heat this up for lunch tomorrow!

File_004 (18).jpeg

 

 

Leave a Reply

