Easy Egg Bake

Any type of quiche or egg bake is the best idea for breakfast, lunch or dinners for the week.  While I was visiting my sister, this Sweet Potato, Goat Cheese and Turkey Bacon Egg Bake kept my sister and I from having to make breakfast every morning and meant more time to play with the baby and spend time doing fun things in Arizona.  After vacation I came back and have made this several times and love eating it for dinners once I get home from the gym since it’s fast to warm up and get in my belly.

File_000 (52).jpeg

First thing to do to prep the dish I had to cooked the turkey bacon in the oven until it was cooked (lay the bacon on a baking sheet and pop into a cold oven and turn it on at 425 for 20 minutes, all ovens cook differently so I say check it after 15 and flip if need to be done).  The original recipe said to just saute with the onions and garlic but I found the bacon wasn’t crispy enough to my liking.

File_002 (17).jpeg

While the bacon cooked I peeled the sweet potatoes (2-3 depending on size) and sliced them into rounds about 1/2 inch or more thick and dropped them into a large pot of water.  I let the potatoes boil on the stove for 8 minutes until they were soft and tender enough to stab with a fork.  Trust me, you want to the sweet potatoes to cool before trying to touch them to place in the bottom of your baking dish, I learned that one too many times!

Since the bacon needed to cool and the sweet potatoes as well I got to work on the vegetable filling.  Over a medium heat I sauteed an onion (I’ve used white and red), a tsp of minced garlic (or 2 cloves), and a couple large handfuls of spinach (not pictured above) for some extra green.  Once all the veggies were cooked down and tender I added the crumbled bacon into the mixture.

File_003 (19).jpeg

Next up was to whisk together 8 eggs, 1/4 cup of almond milk (any type of milk would work fine I’m sure) with 4 oz of crumbled goat cheese.

All the components were set for assembly so I sprayed an 9×11 glass pan with cooking spray and arranged the sweet potatoes for the crust.

File_001 (27).jpeg

On top of the sweet potatoes I added my veggie and bacon mixture.

File_004 (17).jpeg

Then time to pour the egg mixture over top of it all and let it seep it then cook in a 375 degree oven for 35 minutes.  Keep checking your oven because you don’t want to eggs to overcook, especially if you are going to heat it up throughout the week like I do.

Enjoy!

File_009 (3).jpeg

 

 

Leave a Reply

