Buffalo Tortilla Pie

This is a recipe I’m sure will make anyone happy!

I meal prep and cook all in one weekend day and I split all the dishes I make with my sister in law who thankfully will try anything I want to make.  Normally she is the only one who eats my food unless it is a dessert and then the kids are always up for trying that, my brother on the other hand is not so quick to try the food I make.  When I made this recipe and left it in my brother and sister in law’s fridge I was sure my sister in law would be the only one eating as per usual but…..my brother tried this dish and loved it so much ate two pieces!  I call this a huge win in my book!  The original recipe for Buffalo Tortilla Pie can be found here.

File_001 (25).jpeg

Like any other recipe calling for cooked chicken I bought an already prepared rotisserie chicken from the store and removed the chicken off the bones to get 3 cups that I shredded and put in a large mixing bowl.  To the bowl of chicken I added 1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp of Buffalo Sauce, 1/4 cup of sour cream (I used light), 1/2 tsp of basil, 3/4 cup of cheddar cheese (I used the white cheddar), I used almost a whole container of chopped onions (it’s about 1/2 a medium onion), 1/2 tsp minced garlic.  I mixed all those ingredients together.

File_002 (16).jpeg

This could probably be done in any shaped baking dish but I used a pie plate to cook it in since the round tortilla fit nicely in it and made an edge to each slice.  I sprayed cooking spray around the pie plate and pushed a flour tortilla down in the plate.  On top of the bottom tortilla I spread a third of the mixture, placed another tortilla on top and spread another 1/3 of the mixture, set another tortilla on top and finished it with the rest of the mixture.  When I placed the last tortilla on top I topped it with 1 tbsp of Buffalo Sauce and sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top.  The pie plate was then placed in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes.

File_003 (18).jpeg

Once the Buffalo Tortilla Pie was cooled I sliced it into 6 pieces.  A salad and a side of blue cheese dressing would go nicely with a slice.  This recipe reheats well in the microwave or a toaster oven.  Enjoy!

File_000 (51).jpeg

 

Leave a Reply

