Beet and Brussel Sprout Salad

Green salads have been getting boring for me lately.  I make sure to eat them once a day because I need to get all those good nutrients in my body but boy oh boy they get old after awhile.  Just as I had been feeling this way one of my favorite bloggers shared a recipe for a Superfood Salad without greens!  It’s so simple to make this salad on Sunday and have it for the week, I’ve had it for the past two weeks and it’s so great to change it up.

File_001 (24).jpeg

Making rice is not my forte, it never turns out the right texture but buying this boxed frozen brown rice is a time saver.  I haven’t looked at other grocery stores but I bought this from Trader Joe’s and all you have to do is heat a bag in the microwave for 3 minutes.  This microwaved brown rice is perfect to make this salad quickly.

File_000 (48).jpeg

While heating up the rice I threw in a large bowl a pound of shredded brussel sprouts (the week before I sliced them up myself), 8 oz of steamed and peels beets (I bought the ones at Trader Joe’s already cooked and just had to slice), 1/2 cup of dried cranberries, 1/4 cup of crumbled goat cheese and almonds that I chopped up.  I added in the brown rice once it was done in the microwave and cooled a little.

File_002 (15).jpeg

To make the dressing I whisked together 1/4 cup of olive oil and apple cider vinegar with 1 tsp of minced garlic, 1/4 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp honey and dijon mustard plus a few shakes of salt and pepper.

File_003 (17).jpeg

I poured the dressing over the salad and put the top on the bowl and shook it to coat the entire salad.

File_004 (16).jpeg

My new favorite salad obsession!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

