Peanut Butter & Jelly for Breakfast

Whenever I make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for my niece and nephew I drool a little wanting to make myself one.  As much as I can I stay away from eating bread, the whole gluten thing and all, but I always really want to make myself a pb&j sandwich.  One day I was scrolling through the blogs I read and I came across this recipe for Peanut Butter & Jelly Oatmeal Bake and I couldn’t wait to make it.  Since the first time I have made it I have made it another 15 times.  It’s super simple to throw together the ingredients and make for the week for breakfasts and to take to work and eat cold.  Have a craving for pb& j?  Make this now!

File_000 (41).jpeg

First I melt 1 1/2 tbsp of coconut in a large bowl and whisk it together with 1/2 cup of peanut butter, a tbsp of honey (I’ve also used maple syrup as a substitute), 1 1/2 cups of unsweetened vanilla almond milk and an egg I’ve slightly beaten.  Once those ingredients are all whisked together I add in 1 1/2 cups of old fashioned oats, 1/2 tsp baking powder and cinnamon and 1/8 tsp salt.  When everything is mixed together I add the mixture into a 8×8 glass pan that I sprayed with cooking spray.  The next step is to drop spoonfuls of any type of jelly you like onto the top of the mixture and swirl the jelly around with a knife.

File_005 (10).jpeg

I bake the oatmeal for 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven.  When the oatmeal is cooled I cut it into 6 pieces, ready for a week of breakfasts!  Enjoy eating a grown up pb&j for breakfast!

File_001 (21).jpeg

 

Leave a Reply

