Enchilada Rice Bowls

*Just a reminder that the original recipe link can be found in the highlighted pink text*

My goal is to use my crockpot more and I have found another recipe which is a winner in my book and I’ll use it again and again.  The blog, Sweet Tooth Sweet Life, showcases on Sundays the dinners that she made/ate for the week.  I always like seeing what people have on their menus and how I can incorporate them into my week.  The blog shared this recipe for Crockpot Cheesy Chicken Enchilada Rice Bowls and I knew immediately that they were going on my menu for the next week.

File_000 (39).jpeg

Preparing the recipe couldn’t get any simpler.  I cut 3 chicken breasts that equaled 1 1/2 lbs into pieces.  Once they were cut up I put them into the slow cooker that I had already sprayed with cooking spray.  I drained and rinsed a can of corn and a can of black beans and also drained a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes.  Those all went into the slow cooker with the chicken and a can of enchilada sauce.  I sprinkled in 2 tbsp of taco seasoning mix (I was too lazy to mix my own at the time).

File_001 (18).jpeg

Once the ingredients were mixed together I put the top on the slow cooker and cooked on high for 4 hours.  I stirred it here and there.  And after the 4 hours I mixed in a cup of cheese and the meal was done.  I had used brown rice in a bag that I threw in a pot and boiled for 10 minutes to use that as my base.  You could also use brown rice, quinoa, couscous or even eat it alone.  I topped my brown rice with some of mixture and then added a sprinkle of more cheese, some plain greek yogurt and half an avocado.  Enjoy this simple meal!

File_002 (11).jpeg

 

One thought on “Enchilada Rice Bowls

Leave a Reply

