Lentil Burgers

This is one of those recipes that it is pretty simple to make but I forget about it and then I make it and wonder why I don’t make it more often.  The original recipe can be found here, I follow it to a T!

I started by cooking brown rice in a bag over the stovetop.  While that was cooking, in a food processor I add a cup of drained and rinsed garbanzo beans (it’s almost a whole can), 6 cloves of garlic, 1/2 cup of fresh mushrooms along with a tablespoon of olive oil.  I let the mixture go on low for about 30 seconds until it gets to a paste form.  I transfer this mixture to a large bowl.

File_000 (36).jpeg

In the large bowl I also added in 1 cup of cooked lentils (I was lazy and just drained and rinsed a can of them but cooking green lentils is an option as well), 2 tbsp ground flaxseed, 5 tsp Dijon mustard, 3 tbsp tomato paste, 1 tsp chili powder and tumeric and cumin, 1 cup of the cooked brown rice.

File_001 (16).jpeg

Once all the ingredients were mixed together I divided the mixture into 6 burgers.  I put the burgers on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray and baked in a 375 degree oven for 10 minutes.  After 10 minutes I flipped over the burgers and baked for another 10 minutes.

This is definitely not the best looking meal but it tastes really good and it’s so easy to heat up in the microwave when I want a fast dinner or lunch.  I put my lentil burger on top of lettuce and add mustard, sometimes I melt some cheese on top as well.

File_003 (12).jpeg

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

