Lentil & Cauliflower Tacos

This past week I have been going crazy over these tacos I made.  They were incredibly simple, meatless and delicious.  The recipe I saved on my Pinterest almost a year ago and finally tried it out.  The originally recipe can be found here.

File_000 (32).jpeg

I am sure I have complained about this before on a blog post but I had cutting up cauliflower and broccoli but I still chopped up the whole head of cauliflower to roast.  Before putting in a 400 degree oven for 35 minutes I tossed the cauliflower in a drizzle of olive oil and salt and pepper.

File_007 (3).jpeg

While the cauliflower roasted I sauteed a cup of chopped onion and 2 cloves of garlic in some olive oil over medium heat.  Once the onion was tender, I added in 2 tablespoons of tomato paste, 1/2 tsp of cumin and chili powder and let them all cook together for a minute while stirring.

File_003 (10).jpeg

Then I added in 3/4 cup of dried green lentils with 2 cups of vegetable broth and let it all come to a simmer and cook for 45 minutes.  After the 45 minutes the lentils soaked up all the liquid.

File_008 (5).jpeg

When the lentils were cooking I made the sauce to drizzle over top of the tacos.  I changed this recipe slightly because I thought I had chipotle peppers in adobo sauce in my cupboard but I didn’t.  Instead of using that liquid I whisked together 1/3 cup of mayonnaise with 2 1/2 tbsp of siracha sauce and 2 tbsp of lime juice.

File_006 (6).jpeg

All the parts were ready to make tacos!  Instead of using round corn tortillas I used hard shelled tortillas.  First I put the roasted cauliflower in then layered with the lentil mixture and topped it with some of the sauce.

File_009 (2).jpeg

I’ve been eating the tacos all week but just putting the mixtures in the shells and zapping them in the microwave for 45 seconds before drizzling the sauce on.  This is on my meal plan for this week and I’m going to make salads out of them instead of having a salad on my side to get my greens in.

Leave a Reply

