No Flour Banana Oatmeal Muffins

There were four really brown and sad looking bananas sitting in the basket on my counter so I scrolled through google and found a recipe for Banana Oatmeal Muffins and low and behold they were healthy with no flour or sugar.  Perfect for me!

Recently I found out the difference between Old Fashioned Oats and Quick Cooking Oats is that the quick or instant are just processed a little longer than the old fashioned or rolled oats.  So in knowing that, this recipe called for OFO but I just used gluten free quick cooking oats instead.

File_000 (28).jpeg

When the recipe said to pulse for 10 seconds the 2.5 cups of OFO I just pulsed the QCO for a couple seconds.  Once that was done I added in a cup of plain low fat greek yogurt, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup honey, 2 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, 2 tbsp ground flax seed, 1 tsp pure vanilla extract and 2 ripe bananas.

File_002 (9).jpeg

I pulsed the ingredients in the food processor a few times around until the mixture was combined.  In my cupboard I had a few chocolate chips left in a bag and walnuts so I added those into the mixture but just stirring them in.

File_001 (13).jpeg

Normally I just spray my muffin tins with cooking spray but this time I used liners and I wish I hadn’t.  If you leave the muffins out on the counter the muffin would stick to the liner but if I put the muffins in the refrigerator then they didn’t stick.  I always put everything in the refrigerator so it’s not that big of a deal but next time I still won’t use the liners.

File_003 (9).jpeg

The recipe said you would get 12 muffins from the ingredients, however mine made 17.  I put the muffins in a preheated 350 degree oven for 18 minutes and checked with a toothpick and they came out perfect.

Leave a Reply

