Cheese Stuffed Meatloaf

This is not your everyday meatloaf, it’s stuffed with a spicy Jalapeno and Cayenne Pepper Cheddar Cheese that you can buy from Wegmans.  If you are unable to find this cheese then a Pepper Jack cheese like the recipe from Ambitious Kitchen will work as well.  If you are not a fan of spicier the better then I recommend a plain cheddar cheese.

File_006 (5).jpeg

First thing I did was grate the zucchini onto a cheese cloth.  I highly recommend buying these because they wring out the zucchini of it’s water so the recipes using zucchini don’t get weighed down in liquid.  I’ve bought mine from Bed Bath and Beyond in the past.

File_001 (10).jpeg

Once the zucchini is wrung out it looks like this

File_000 (22).jpeg

In a large bowl I mixed with the 1 grated zucchini, 1 1/2 lbs of ground turkey, a chopped onion, 2 cloves of minced garlic, an egg, 1/2 cup of panko breadcrumbs, 1 tsp of cumin and oregano and dijon mustard, 1/2 tsp of garlic powder and cayenne pepper (only if you like heat) and black pepper and salt.

File_003 (5).jpeg

When it was all combined I split the mixture in half and split it between 6 small loaf pans.  The meatloaf could be made into one large loaf pan instead but I have had this pan for so many years and have barely used it.  When half the mixture was in the pans I put a half a slice of the Jalapeno with Cayenne Pepper Cheddar Cheese down and then split the remaining mixture on top of the rest of them.

File_004 (9).jpeg

 When the meatloaf was ready I mixed together a ketchup like topping.

File_000 (23).jpeg

I mixed together 1/2 cup of tomato sauce, 1 1/2 tsp of apple cider vinegar, 1/2 tbsp of honey, 1 tbsp mustard, dash of soy sauce and hot sauce.  With those ingredients mixed I put a tbsp on top of each meatloaf.

File_005 (7).jpeg

I baked the meatloaf in a 375 degree oven for 25 minutes.  This recipe was great to reheat too.

File_008 (3).jpeg

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

