Wonton Buffalo Chicken Muffins

It’s another Buffalo flavored and portion controlled muffin but without the meatloaf.  This recipe uses wonton wrappers in cupcake tins.

File_004 (7).jpeg

The original recipe is from Emily Bites blog.  When I have made this recipe in the past I was able to locate the Laughing Cow blue cheese wedges but I have been unable to find them recently so I have had to make my own version which I think comes out just like the original.

The wonton wrappers you can find in the produce section of most grocery stores, I end up getting the smaller squares as I found they fit in the muffin tins well.  You can cook your own chicken breasts and chop it or do what I do and take the meat off of a prepared rotisserie chicken from the store.

File_000 (19).jpeg

First step was that I combined 2 cups of the chopped rotisserie chicken and 3 tbsp of Buffalo wing sauce with 1/4 cup of grated swiss cheese and 3 tbsp of blue cheese dressing (if you find the Laughing Cow blue cheese then use 4 of the wedges in replace of the swiss and blue cheese).

File_003 (4).jpeg

I microwaved those ingredients together for a minute and a half then mixed it all together so the chicken was coated with that mixture.  After it’s thoroughly combined I added in 1/4 cup of chopped celery (about 1/2 stalk).

File_004 (6).jpeg

When the mixture is all set, I sprayed 8 muffin tins with cooking spray then took a wonton wrapper and pushed it into the bottom and filled it with some of the chicken mixture, sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top of the filling and repeated the step with another wonton wrapper, mixture then cheddar cheese.

File_005 (5).jpeg

(I doubled this recipe when I made it if you are wondering why I have 12 tins filled).

Once all the muffins are set I place in a 375 degree oven for 18 minutes.

When I am ready to eat I like to top mine with blue cheese and sometimes I put over a bed of lettuce with carrots and celery.

File_001 (7).jpeg

 

Leave a Reply

