Chicken Soup for the Sick

It seems as though everyone is sick right now, including myself!  The cold and flu season is upon us and I recommend that you make this soup and keep some of it in the freezer for when a little sickness comes on.

As you can see from how this recipe looks that I have made this chicken soup a few too many times and my handwriting looks like I was in a rush to jot to it down.  I have no idea where I got this recipe from but it’s a good one!

File_006 (4).jpeg

For the soup I buy a rotisserie chicken but feel free to use chicken that you have cooked yourself.

File_000 (16).jpeg

First I sauteed chopped onion, chopped celery, zucchini and garlic in olive oil.  I seasoned the vegetables with black pepper, oregano and garlic powder.

File_001 (5).jpeg

Once the vegetables softened I added chicken stock to the pot.

File_002 (5).jpeg

Then I added shredded chicken with two sprigs of fresh rosemary.

File_003 (3).jpeg

For an hour I let the soup simmer.

File_004 (5).jpeg

After an hour I remove the two rosemary sprigs and add in garbanzo beans, sundried tomatoes, spinach and salt.

File_005 (4).jpeg

Just like that you have delicious, nutritious and some warmth for when you’re sick or any other time you want a hot bowl of homemade chicken soup.

Ingredients:

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp minced garlic or 2 garlic cloves

1 1/2 cups chopped onion

1 cup chopped celery

2 chopped zucchini

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp black pepper

6 cups chicken stock or vegetable stock

2-3 cups of cooked shredded chicken

2 rosemary sprigs

15 oz can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

1/4 cup sundried tomatoes chopped

10 oz fresh spinach

salt to season

Directions:

1. Saute onion, celery, zucchini and garlic in olive oil

2. Season vegetables with oregano, black pepper, garlic powder

3. Once the vegetables are softened add stock along with the shredded chicken and the rosemary sprigs and let simmer for 1 hour

4. After and hour, remove rosemary sprigs and add the garbanzo beans, the sundried tomatoes and spinach and season with salt.

Leave a Reply

