Mexican Meatloaf Muffins

My love for Mexican and muffins combined into one!  I am in heaven with this recipe and so is everyone else that I make it for!  It’s so spicy and yummy!  I love every little thing that goes into this recipe and talk about easy!

File_000 (13).jpeg

The original recipe is here and I follow it but I use a couple different things than she is does.

File_002 (4).jpeg

At first I take a teaspoon of chili oil (I found it within the Asian section of the grocery store and I just noticed I do not have it in my picture of the ingredients, sorry that won’t help you out), and put it in a pan over medium heat with 1/2 cup of diced onion and matchstick carrots and a 1/2 tsp of minced garlic (or whole garlic clove).

File_003 (2).jpeg

While the veggies are softening I mix together in a large bowl 1/2 tsp of salt and paprika, 1/4 tsp of black pepper, cayenne pepper and oregano, 3/4 tsp of cumin and 2 tsp of chili powder.

File_004 (4).jpeg

When the veggies were soft I mixed them with the seasonings along with 1/2 cup of hot salsa and unseasoned bread crumbs (I’ve used whole wheats one before too) and two eggs.  Then I added in 1 1/2 lbs of ground chicken (or turkey, the recipe original calls for beef).

File_005 (3).jpeg

Once all those ingredients are mixed I divide the mixture into 12 muffin tins that have been sprayed with cooking spray.  I top each muffin with taco sauce and bake in a 350 degree oven for 25 minutes.

File_006 (3).jpeg

After 25 minutes I top each muffin with a sprinkle of Mexican cheese and bake for another 2 minutes until the cheese has melted.  When ready to eat I top with avocado and Greek yogurt.  Yummy!

File_001 (3).jpeg

Leave a Reply

