Crockpot Zucchini Lasagna

*Just a reminder, the pink lettering is the link to click on for the original recipe.*

What a breeze to make this recipe!  I’ve had it pinned on my Pinterest for awhile now and still hadn’t made it.  On Sunday I had no plan of what to eat for the week and sitting in the grocery store parking lot I pulled this up and bought all the ingredients.

File_009.jpeg

This recipe for Slow Cooker Zucchini Lasagna with Meat Sauce was pretty easy to put together and having it in the slow cooker for six hours definitely helps.  The only thing I would do next time I make this would be to add more seasoning, it only calls for parsley but I would add oregano and basil as well.

File_000 (11).jpeg

First I started to cook the pound of ground turkey over medium high heat.  While the meat was browning I sliced 4 zucchini into thin strips.

File_003 (1).jpeg

Next up was to mix together the cheese part of the lasagna.  I mixed together 1 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese, 15 oz container of ricotta cheese, 1/2 cup of shredded parmesan cheese, 2 eggs, a tablespoon of parsley (in the future I will add a tablespoon of basil and 1/2 tablespoon of oregano), 1 teaspoon of salt and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper.

File_004 (3).jpeg

Since all the ingredients were prepped it was time to put the lasagna together.  I sprayed my crockpot with cooking spray and put one layer of zucchini on the bottom.

File_005 (2).jpeg

On top of the zucchini I spread 1/2 cup of the cheese mixture, 1 cup of the ground turkey, 4 tablespoons of marinara.

File_006 (2).jpeg

I was able to do second row of zucchini with the cheese, meat and marinara then a third layer of zucchini with the remaining cheese, meat and marinara then a fourth layer of zucchini and I topped that last layer of zucchini with a cup of mozzarella cheese.

File_007 (1).jpeg

Once the mozzarella was on top I put the cover on and set the crockpot to low.  I checked the lasagna after 5 1/2 hours and it was bubbling pretty well so I shut off the crockpot and let it cool completely before placing it in the fridge.  If I had been eating the lasagna right away I would have waited for about 30 minutes before serving.

The lasagna I was able to cut into 8 good size servings.

File_008 (1)

Leave a Reply

