Sweet Potato Enchiladas

With enchiladas I always felt as though I needed to follow a recipe but since I have made several different ones I felt comfortable putting together my own combination.

File_004 (2).jpeg

To prep for the enchiladas I cooked 3 sweet potatoes in the oven at 425 degrees until they were soft, around 30 minutes.  I take the sweet potatoes and scrub the skins clean and poke them with a fork several times and wrap them in foil and place on a baking sheet.  As soon as the sweet potatoes are soft I remove them from the oven and let cool then I slide the skins off.  I removed two cups of shredded chicken from a rotisserie chicken I picked up at the store (this really helps to quicken the prep time).  Then I drained and rinsed a can of black beans.

When all the ingredients were ready I took a 9×13 glass pan and spread a half a jar of red enchilada sauce down on the bottom and got to work on the enchiladas.  I layed out a gluten free tortilla (you could use any tortilla that you like) and sprinkled a little bit of mexican cheese down first, put a small amount of chicken and cut up sweet potato and some black beans on top.  I rolled the tortilla and put the open end down into the sauce to keep it closed.

File_005 (1).jpeg

Once all 8 tortillas were rolled and put in the pan I took the rest of the enchilada sauce and poured it on top and sprinkled more cheese.  I placed the pan in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes until the cheese was melted and the enchiladas were heated through.

File_006 (1).jpeg

For lunch or dinner I took an enchilada and put it over a bed of spinach and topped the enchilada with a dollop of plain greek yogurt and half of an avocado.

Sweet Potato Enchiladas

Ingredients:

3 cooked sweet potatoes with skin removed

15 oz can of red enchilada sauce

8 tortillas

2 cups of cooked chicken

15 oz can of black beans rinsed and drained

1 1/2 cups of Mexican cheese

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Put half a can of the enchilada sauce on the bottom of a 9×13 pan.
  3. Take a tortilla and sprinkle it with cheese, top with some of the sweet potato, chicken and black beans.  Roll the tortilla up however you like your enchiladas, I like to close the ends in and then roll.  Put the rolled up tortilla in the pan with the opening end facing downwards into the sauce to help keep it closed.  Continue adding the ingredients to the remaining tortillas and rolling them.
  4. Once all tortillas are in the pan spread the remaining sauce on the top and top with remaining cheese.
  5. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes until the cheese is melted and the enchiladas are heated through,
  6. Top with your favorite toppings.

 

 

Leave a Reply

