Slow Cooker Oatmeal

*Just a reminder, the pink lettering is the link to click on for the original recipe.*

Making a crockpot full of oatmeal on a Sunday evening makes breakfast for the week a breeze!  Typically I put all my ingredients into the pot before I go to sleep and set my alarm to turn it off and voila I have oatmeal that is cooled enough to put in the fridge before I go off to work and I can pack myself a pyrex dish full of it and warm up once I get to work.

This recipe for Carrot Cake and Zucchini Bread Oatmeal is the perfect amount of sweet without getting a sugar high and is hearty enough to keep me full until lunch.  I used to like oatmeal incredibly sweet to mask the gummy texture of the oatmeal but now since learning how to cook oats, or in this case steel cut oats, I don’t need the chocolate and tons of brown sugar mixed in.

In order to have enough of the oatmeal for the week I double the ingredient amounts that are in the link.

IMG_5905.JPG

First I spray my crockpot with cooking spray and put in 1 1/4 cups of steel cut oats (I like the oatmeal to be thick so I found adding an extra quarter cup thickens it up the way I like) and 3 cups of unsweetened vanilla almond milk.  I peel two small carrots and then grate the carrots and a zucchini into the slow cooker with the oats and milk.

IMG_5910.JPG

Next, I mix in two pinches of nutmeg and salt, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon along with 4 tablespoons of pure maple syrup and 2 teaspoons of pure vanilla extract.  Once they are all mixed together I put the lid of top and cook on low for 5 hours (the recipe says 6-8 but I realized that in my slow cooker it was finished much quicker).

IMG_5911.JPG

When the oatmeal is finished I let it cool and stick the remaining in the refrigerator once I spoon out some for my breakfast.  I reheat a portion in the microwave for 1 1/2 minutes and then top with chopped pecans.

IMG_5914

One thought on “Slow Cooker Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

