Any Veggies You Like Soup

At times it can be difficult to make sure you fit enough vegetables in your daily diet.  For myself I try to sneak them in wherever I can, extra spinach thrown into my breakfast smoothie, brussel spouts in my eggs, salad mix under any main dish, peppers on top of homemade pizza.  Some days it can be a struggle to reach the recommended amount of vegetables, other days I exceed the daily amount.

A few years ago I was on a cleanse for a week that had me eating only fruits and vegetables.  To come up with a meal that wasn’t a boring salad I decided to throw a whole bunch of the vegetables in a pot and add water with spices and surprisingly it flavored up my tasteless week.  Since then I have improved the soup over time and love the outcome.  You could add any of your favorite vegetables that you like but this is my usual combo.  It’s a great way to use up vegetables that are on their last leg or if you have a large farmer’s market batch (which is the reason I went to town making this).

IMG_5919

First I chopped up all my vegetables, 1/2 large onion, 5 stalks celery, 1 1/2 peppers, 1/2 cup carrots, small bunch of broccoli (anyone else hate cutting up broccoli, ugh!), and 2 zucchini.

Over medium heat I sauteed 1 tsp minced garlic in 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil.  I added the onion and celery and let those two soften a little before adding the yellow pepper and the half of red pepper and carrots.

IMG_5924

I mixed those veggies and let them cook for 5 minutes then threw in the broccoli and zucchini and sprinkled 1 tsp crushed red pepper on top.  After mixing all of the vegetables with the crushed red pepper I allow the vegetables to soften even more for another 5 minutes.

IMG_5926

While the vegetables are softening I drain and rinse a 15 oz can of white great northern beans.  Once the 5 minutes goes by I add the beans with a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes (this time I had a can of basil garlic and oregano tomatoes so that is what I used).  Then I add 2 tbsp tomato paste.

IMG_5928

The last two steps are to add in 64 oz vegetable broth with 2 large handfuls spinach (ends up being 1/2 of the bag).

I mix all the ingredients together I bring the temperature up to high until the soup begins to boil.  Once the soup comes to a boil I turn down the burner to low and let it simmer for 10 minutes.  Soup is ready to eat!

Vegetable Soup

Ingredients:

1 tbsp oil

1 tsp minced garlic (or two cloves)

1/2 large onion chopped

5 stalks celery chopped

1 1/2 colored peppers chopped

1/2 cup carrots chopped

small bunch of broccoli chopped

2 zucchini chopped

15 oz can white great northern beans, drained and rinsed

15 oz can diced tomatoes

2 tbsp tomato paste

64 oz vegetable broth

2 large handfuls spinach (1/2 bag)

  1. Over medium heat add garlic to the oil in a large pot.
  2. Saute onion and celery in the oil.
  3. Add the peppers and carrots and let the vegetables soften for 5 minutes.
  4. Add in the broccoli, zucchini and crushed red pepper and let cook for 5 minutes.
  5. Mix in the beans, tomatoes and paste.
  6. Add the vegetable broth along with the spinach and mix.
  7. Bring the soup to a boil then turn the heat down to simmer it for 10 minutes.

This soup freezes well in tupperware.  Any vegetables can be added to the soup or any seasonings that are your favorite.

Leave a Reply

