Bushel of Apples

Ok maybe I didn’t get a bushel of apples but I did get a half bushel of apples at the Farmer’s Market on Saturday.  Galas are my favorite type to eat, not sure if they are a good baking apple but they worked in my two dishes.

IMG_5944

On Sunday I was quite busy using up a good portion of the apples and getting a hand cramp from peeling and slicing the apples.  I tend to follow recipes as I get nervous I will screw up seasonings and the flavor will be completely off but I decided to just wing it with a couple apple dishes. And they came out delicious! I’m so happy!

First up was Apple Crisp.

IMG_5942

I wanted to make one that didn’t use flour and was healthier than the average apple crisp.

IMG_5931

After preheating the oven to 350 degrees I peeled and sliced 8 apples and put them into a large bowl.

IMG_5933

Once the apples were sliced I mixed together 2 tsp of cinnamon, 12 packets of Truvia and 1/2 tsp salt and coated the sliced apples with the mixture.

IMG_5934

Once I set the apples into a 13×9 baking pan that was sprayed with cooking spray, I took 1 1/4 cups of old fashioned oats and threw them into my chopper and made oat flour.

IMG_5935

Next I mixed the oat flour with 1/2 cup of old fashioned oats, 2 packets of Truvia and 2 tbsp of melted butter.  The mixture is not as crumbly as a typical apple crisp topping.  I layered the oat mixture on top of the sliced apples and baked in the oven for 35 minutes.

IMG_5936

The second dish I cooked was homemade applesauce.  I do not suggest starting this at 8pm!  Peeling 20 apples after I had been cooking most of the day was not the brightest idea I have had.  In a large saucepan, I had on medium heat, I put 20 peeled and sliced apples along with 1 cup of water.

IMG_5946

I stirred the apples around a few times then added 1/4 cup honey, 6 large shakes of cinnamon (I’m sorry I didn’t measure that better) and 3 squirts of lemon.

IMG_5947

For an 1 hour and 15 minutes I let the apples cook down.  It could have been cooked longer to make it smoother but I like my applesauce to have some apple chunks in it.  I stirred every once in awhile to make sure the apples weren’t sticking.  Once the applesauce cooled I split it into several containers and placed a couple in the freezer as well as gave some to a few friends.

File_000

Now I have about 15 more apples that I need to use up before I leave for vacation on Friday, I need to find something else to do with them or I will be giving out apples at the airport.

Recipe for Apple Crisp

Cooking spray

8 apples

2 tsp cinnamon

12 packets + 2 packets Truvia or Stevia

1/2 tsp salt

1 3/4 cups Old Fashioned oats

2 tbsp melted butter

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Peel and slice apples.
  3. Mix together cinnamon, 12 packets of Truvia and the salt and toss the apples in the mixture.
  4. Spray a 13×9 baking pan with cooking spray and put the coated apples in the bottom.
  5. Use 1 1/4 cups of the oats to make oat flour by grinding in a chopper.
  6. Mix together the oat flour, 1/2 cup of oats, 2 packets of Truvia and melted butter.  Mixture will not be crumbly.
  7. Put the mixture over the top of the apples.
  8. Bake for 30-40 minutes.

Recipe for Applesauce

20 apples

1 cup water

1/4 cup honey

6 shakes of cinnamon (less or more depending how much you like cinnamon)

3 squirts of lemon

  1. Peel and slice the apples.
  2. Put the slices in a large pot over medium heat on the stovetop.
  3. Pour the water into the pot and stir the apples around a few times.
  4. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir.
  5. Cook for around 1 hour and 15 minutes or until the applesauce reaches the consistency you like.  Continue to stir every once in a while to keep the apples from sticking.
  6. Once the applesauce is cooled it can be placed in the freezer for future use.
Leave a Reply

