A Little Chili for an Autumn Day

Fall is the perfect time for a warm bowl of chili!  This Chipotle Turkey Chili with Apples recipe has the flavor of fall rolled into it with a nice hot spice and apples!  I’ve never added apple cider to a chili before, it was a great combination.  The original recipe is from one of my favorite food bloggers, her recipes are always fabulous.  I wish my pictures of the chili looked as amazing as her’s but don’t let my ugly photos stop you from making this.

IMG_5832

First thing I did was take a large pot to cook up the pound of ground turkey over medium heat with a chopped Granny Smith apple and a chopped small onion.  I seasoned the mixture with salt and pepper.

IMG_5810

Once the turkey was cooked I added garlic and let that cook for a minute then added the two chipotle peppers that I chopped up while the turkey was cooking.

IMG_5813

Along with adding the peppers I added one tablespoon of the adobo sauce that the peppers come in.  I also stirred in two teaspoons of cumin and chili powder and let that cook for a minute,

IMG_5811

Next I stirred into the pot a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, with a cup of the apple cider, a cup of the chicken broth, one bay leaf plus a cinnamon stick.  When all the items were mixed together I brought the chili up to a boil and then turned the stove down to simmer for 10 minutes.  Then it’s done!  I topped a bowl of the chili with some crushed blue chips and Mexican cheese (a dollop of plain greek yogurt and avocado would be amazing as well).

IMG_5831

Leave a Reply

