Corn Tortilla Mexican Lasagna

Every week I must eat some type of Mexican food!  I could eat a spicy Mexican meal for every lunch and dinner every day and never be tired of it!  Bring on the margarita on the rocks with salt please!

This Mexican Lasagna recipe is a great addition to my list of Mexican foods I can enjoy.

CIMG3175

I have tried a bunch of Anne’s recipes before from her blog, I like that she is a registered dietitian so she is thoughtful in putting her meals together.  This recipe made a large amount, 8-10 servings!  Thankfully my sister in law and I divide the food I make for the week and I only had four portions of it.  If I were to make this for myself I would split it into two smaller pans and freeze one to cook at a later date.

I couldn’t believe how quickly this recipe came together but I credit the rotisserie chicken I used.  From a rotisserie chicken I end up getting 4 cups of shredded chicken!  It’s such a time saver and moist and it’s perfect to use the chicken in soups, casseroles and salads.  Huge fan!

CIMG3133

All I do it take off all the skin of the chicken and remove the meat from the bone.  This recipe only uses 2 cups of chicken so you can keep the rest in the fridge to top your salads for the week.

Here’s what I used for the Mexican Lasagna, 2 cups of cooked chicken (you could also cook your own instead of buying a rotisserie), 9 corn tortillas, 1 can of rinsed and drained kidney beans and a rinsed and drained can of black beans, 1 jar (16 oz) of salsa, 1 cup of plain Greek yogurt, 1 chopped green pepper, 4.5 oz (that’s 2 small cans) of sliced black olives, 1 cup shredded Mexican cheese, avocado and plain Greek yogurt to top when serving and bed of spinach to serve with.

CIMG3135

I preheated my oven to 350 degrees and started layering the ingredients.  On the bottom of my baking dish I put two whole corn tortillas and ripped one in half to cover the rest of the bottom, topped that with about a cup of the chicken, half of each type of bean, half of the salsa, half of the greek yogurt, half of the green pepper, half of the black olives and half of the cheese.

CIMG3141

Next, I put another layer of the tortillas like I did on the bottom and layered all the ingredients again (saved a little of the salsa and the cheese).  Then, put another layer of tortillas and top that with the remaining salsa and cheese and voila you’re done!  See, told you, simple!  Bake in the oven for 20 minutes and put it on a bed of spinach, add a dollop of plain Greek yogurt and half of a cut up avocado!

CIMG3176

This is just as delicious reheated for meals for the week!  Next time I think I will add a can of diced green chilies and a margarita on the side!

One thought on “Corn Tortilla Mexican Lasagna

Leave a Reply

