Gourmet Sweet Potato Salad

It sounds odd to add a sweet potato to a salad but I cannot even explain to you in words the deliciousness of this salad.  I have made it for others and they love it as much as I do.  The salad is very filling and healthy with a good amount of protein.  It’s easy to prepare the parts of the salad on the weekend and then have it for lunches for the week.

First I cook a few sweet potatoes in the oven.  I preheat the oven at 425 degrees and scrub as many sweet potatoes as I’ll use for the week.  I take a fork and poke holes in the sweet potatoes and individually wrap them in foil.  Once the oven is preheated I put the wrapped potatoes on a baking sheet and cook them until they are softened.  It really depends on the size of the sweet potatoes the length that they cook for, usually it’s between 30 minutes to an hour.  When they are cool to the touch I remove the skin and refrigerate them until I use them.

When I’m preparing food for my week I cook a few chicken breasts seasoned with salt and pepper and chop them up.  I also drain and rinse black beans too.

For the salad I use mixed salad greens topped with one of the sweet potatoes and chopped chicken that I warm in the microwave, some black beans and my favorite goat cheese.  I whisk together a tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil and a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar and dress the salad with some of it.

IMG_5710

An easy salad to prepare but tastes as though you bought it from a gourmet restaurant!

Leave a Reply

