Taco Salad Obsession

I have a bit of a confession, I love Mexican food, anything spicy, the hotter the better and I eat a taco salad pretty much everyday for lunch!  Not only can I get some healthy greens in my mid day meal but the spice and protein from the taco meat satisfies me and keeps me full till dinner.

My taco salads consist of greens as my base, sometimes it’s mixed spring greens, sometimes romaine lettuce, sometimes spinach, whatever I have in my fridge.  I top my greens with about three ounces of warm taco meat, which I will tell you below how I make my own seasoning.  My toppings consist of a sprinkle of Mexican cheese, a couple spoonfuls of salsa, a couple spoonfuls of plain Greek yogurt (yes, Green yogurt, trust me you’ll never taste the difference from sour cream), half an avocado, sometimes I add black olives, peppers and crushed tortilla chips.  I’ll never get sick of this salad, I basically eat it all week long at work!

   FullSizeRender (1)

For the longest time I used the prepackaged taco seasoning which I would buy in the store but it has so much extra sodium!  A friend of mine and my sister kept saying they seasoned their meat using a little of this and a little of that.  I kept playing around with seasonings until I found a combination that I loved.

In a skillet over medium heat I brown one pound of ground meat, I have used ground chicken, ground turkey, ground beef tenderloin, those are three of my favorites but you can use any type of ground meat for this recipe.

CIMG3097

Once the meat is browned I drain any left over fat.  I put the skillet back on medium heat and add in the following seasonings, 1 tablespoon of chili powder, 1 1/2 tsp of cumin, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, paprika, sea salt and black pepper, 1/4 teaspoon of onion powder, crushed red pepper flakes, and dried oregano.  A little tip, I buy my seasonings from Aldi’s, they cost only .99 compared to $4 sometimes at another grocery store chain.

CIMG3098

Then I add in about 1/3 cup of water and mix it all together and take off the heat.

I split the meat into 6 servings so it ends up being close to 3 ounces each.  By putting each serving in a snack size ziplock bag and throwing them in the freezer they are easy to pull out each day for my lunch.

CIMG3101

Once lunch time comes my meat is thawed and I place it in the microwave for about 30 seconds to heat through.  This meat has also been used when I’ve had hard shelled tacos for dinner.  Hope you find this as easy as I do!

Taco Seasoning Recipe:

1 lb ground meat (turkey, chicken, beef)

1 tbsp chili powder

1 1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/4 tsp onion powder

1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

1/4 tsp dried oregano

1/3 c water

Brown the meat over medium heat, drain fat, mix in all seasonings and water.

Leave a Reply

