A Side of Shaved Brussel Sprout Salad

I am newly in love with brussel sprouts, as in the last couple years.  When I was a kid I never would have eaten those little cabbages but now I find myself ordering them at restaurants and finding ways to prepare them at home.  It took awhile for me to find a way to cook them that I liked but roasting them in the oven is definitely my favorite way to enjoy them.

This recipe is now an additional way I can love brussel sprouts!  My family was my guinea pig last week when I made it.  It’s definitely not the quickest recipe but the taste is well worth it and my family agreed.  The blog I found this recipe on is one I’ve been reading for several years and all her recipes always look so delicious.  Here’s her Apple Almond Bacon Brussels Sprouts Salad recipe.

First crisp the bacon in a frying pan. I actually had never cooked bacon this way but it was surprisingly easy.  Once the bacon crisps up in the pan remove it and let it cool on paper towels. Do not get rid of the grease, you need it to prepare the dressing.
image

While the bacon is cooling use a cheese grater or food processor to shave the sprouts.  I used my food processor but you could easily thinly slice them too with a knife.  Put the brussel sprouts in a bowl.  I chopped the almonds in my food processor or you could get sliced almonds or use a knife to chop them yourself.  Mix the brussel sprouts along with the almonds.

image

With the reserved bacon grease you’ll make the dressing, saute the chopped shallots in the grease.

image

While the shallots are cooking chop the pink lady apple (or any apple) and crumble the bacon.

image

Add those to the brussel sprout mix.  Remove the start of the dressing from the heat and whisk in red wine vinegar, honey, dijon mustard and salt and pepper.  Once it is whisked together then add it back to the heat for a little bit.

Drizzle the dressing over the brussel sprout mix and serve!  I also ate the leftovers for lunch the following day.  This would be great with some chicken over top to have as a meal instead of a side.
image

One thought on “A Side of Shaved Brussel Sprout Salad

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites #3 | Testing and Trying My Thirties

Leave a Reply

