Fresh Pico de Gallo Salsa

Fresh salsa is one of my favorite things in the world! I love Mexican food and some heat and spice!  This fresh Pico de Gallo is perfect for anyone that loves a refreshing snack to take to a party or snack on yourself or throw over a taco salad.  It doesn’t take too long to whip up especially if you have a chopper or food processor.

Ingredients:
4 medium tomatoes chopped
8 jalapenos cleaned out and chopped
1 red onion chopped
1/2 cup cilantro chopped
1/2 cup fresh lemon juice
1 1/2 teaspoons minced garlic

image

I suggest wearing plastic gloves to chop up the jalapenos.  Discard the gloves as soon as you’re done handling the peppers, do not touch your skin, especially your eyes.

image

You’ll want to clean out the seeds and ribs, as this is where the heat of the pepper is held. The spicier you want it the more seeds and ribs you can keep in the mix but I clean out about 95% of them. I throw the cleaned out peppers into my food processor and give to a few pulses to help chop them up and then I take my knife and roughly chop to get them smaller. I find if I pulse too long in the food processor it gets too juicy and it’s meant to be larger pieces than a salsa. You can also just use your knife to chop up the peppers.

image

Throw them into a bowl. Next, chop up the red onion. I also throw mine into the food processor.

image

Chop up your tomatoes.  Keep the juice from the tomatoes as well to put in the bowl with the ingredients.

image

Clean the cilantro by rinsing it under water, sometimes there can still be grit from the dirt. Chop that up and throw in the bowl. I use my kitchen scissors to chop up the cilantro, it’s easier to me.  Add either 3 garlic cloves minced or 1 1/2 teaspoons of minced garlic and 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice. Mix all the ingredients with a spoon and serve with tortilla chips!  Easy as that!

image

Leave a Reply

