Zoodles of Fun

For a few years I’ve been obsessed with spaghetti squash in place of pasta. I have gluten intolerance and avoid eating gluten items as much as possible, for some reason pasta tends to bother me the most so I rarely eat any. I know there are a lot of gluten free pastas and I have tried and liked several brands but I don’t really care for all the carbs that come with gluten free products.

Spaghetti squash was my go to but now with my new found love for the Vegetti I go crazy making zoodles (zucchini noodles).

image

It’s a breeze to use and you can prepare the zoodles several ways, like this recipe for Shrimp Zoodles Parmesan by Skinnytaste.

This recipe I recently tried on my parents and my sister who is in town and received raved reviews. The recipe is very easy to make and you don’t need too many ingredients. I doubled the recipe for my family and changed a few things.

First I made the zoodles using three large zucchini.

image

Next, I prepared the shrimp, that I had peppered, with the suggested egg wash and dipped in panko bread crumbs, whole wheat bread crumbs and shredded parmesan (the recipe calls for grated which I used the first time I made it but this time I grabbed the wrong cheese but it still came out just as good). Don’t forget to spray the baking sheet and top of shrimp with a cooking spray.

image

While the shrimp is baking, prepare the sauce. I used the ingredients listed in the recipe but also added some extra seasonings, basil, Italian seasoning, oregano and onion powder. I didn’t measure those out but probably used around a teaspoon of each, but remember I was doubling this recipe.

image

Once the sauce was warmed through I added the zoodles and made sure to mix it to coat all the zoodles. The recipe says to use an oven safe skillet but instead I used a large saucepan then transferred to a 9×13 glass dish.

image

Once the shrimp was done baking I put the shrimp on top of the zoodles, sprinkled with shredded mozzarella and put the glass dish under the broiler until the cheese was melted.

image

My sous chef, my sister Ashley who has tried and liked many of Skinnytaste’s recipes, making pasta for my dad to put under his zoodles. It’s a good option for someone who wants some extra volume to their meal.

image

By doubling the recipe we had leftovers and I took it for lunch and added some spinach to the bottom of my bowl before reheating.

Are you a spaghetti squash and zoodle lover? Anything g you’ve tried making with the Vegetti besides zucchini?

One thought on “Zoodles of Fun

  1. Pingback: Buffalo Shrimp and Goat Cheese Sauce with Zoodles | Testing and Trying My Thirties

Leave a Reply

